Read Me

An old wizard of the music industry once said to me that the only advice he could give me as a songwriter was to read, read as much as possible, read everywhere and anywhere.

He knew what he was talking about. This musical magician signed some of the most seminal acts in music.

And the point he was making was that another writer may trigger something for you and as a songwriter you have to be on the lookout. You need to study language and turn of phrase not just keys and time signatures.

I have always loved reading, I would lay in bed after a paper-round reading until I made myself late for school. I read into the early hours of the morning. In fact I have a little idea that when I’m an old Grandfather clock, I’ll own an old book shop with wooden floors, a rocking chair, a guitar and a note pad preferably in Barcelona where I can spend me last few days, reading, writing, and playing guitar.

When I was at school we had this epic english teacher called Mr Logan. He was inspiring, he got us to read interesting books, he avoided the dull and made us think as individuals, I owe him one, I really do. There was a book called ‘Junk’ that had been banned in school yet he invited the author in to give a speech about the book alongside the librarian who had banned it so that we could explore the idea of censorship.

Along the road of reading I have found some writers that write to me like a friend, like someone who has an understanding of how I think and how I relate to the world. These writers have inspired my own take on the world and the seeds they planted in my heart and head have flourished through my own thoughtosynthesis into songs.

Reading sets you free, it allows you to fly, to travel, to climb inside ideas, to play out your imagination.

This Thursday it’s World Book Day. In an age where idiots think it’s a good idea to shut a library maybe its a good time to hop on down there and get a book stamped out. Take your kid brother or sister or your little one. Note: If you are lucky enough to be a parent you should read to your child. End of.

In celebration of World Book Day I would like to thank and recommend these following hero’s of mine in the department of words for the following books which for me sparkle like the first star in the early evening sky.

May you find comfort, creativity, confession and chaos in their arms.

Herman Hesse: Demian, Steppenwolf, Narcissus and Goldmund.

Carlos Castaneda: The complete works.

Roald Dahl: Danny the champion of the world, The Witches, James and the Giant Peach.

Gabriel Garcia Marquez: Love in the times of Cholera, One hundred years of solitude.

Tom Wolfe: The Electric Kool Aid Acid Test

Jill Tomlinson: The Owl who was afraid of the dark

Richard Brautigan: In Watermelon Sugar

Sue Townsed: The Diaries of Adrian Mole

The Story of O: Pauline Reage

J.R.R Tolkien: Tree and Leaf

Adlous Huxley: The Doors of Perception

Elijah x

About The Gravity Drive

Inside The Gravity Drive:
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Read Me

  1. Lee says:

    Couldn’t have said it better myself. Well done you, for posting this 🙂

  2. Rupert Thomson is my “gets in my head” author. Great post!

  3. Tyree Mozee says:

    Very interesting topic, regards for posting.

Leave a comment